Testimonials & Reviews

John Pilavas, MD

Ophthalmologist located in Astoria, Long Island City, NY

15 total reviews

Dr. John Pilavas always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 15 reviews with an average rating of 4.93 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. John Pilavas below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Ellie I.
Submitted 12/03/19
Dr John Pilavas is very personable and extremely efficient. I appreciate his patience and listening skills. Front desk staff is also very friendly and organized. Bonus: Dr. P demonstrates genuine empathy for those with one eye. Highly recommend.
Sandra Y.
Submitted 09/03/19
Dr John Pilavas is wonderful. Very thorough and explains everything well. Office is clean and welcoming. Would highly recommend.
Esther M.
Submitted 05/30/19
Dr Pilavas is an incredible doctor and surgeon. I was referred to him by Dr Norman Saffra because of his expertise with problems that relate to the cornea. We not only dealt with the original corneal problems but when I asked about corrective laser surgery he walked me through what the process would look like and saw me repeatedly over several months to make sure my eyes were ready for the procedure. My insurance switched in the middle and he even made an exception for that! I had dry eyes so he put me on a regimen of different drops in order to prep my eyes for the surgery. We did the PRK procedure which has a bit longer recovery time than lasik but less complications down the road. It was uncomfortable/painful for around 3 days and it has been fine ever since. My vision went from a prescription of about -7.00 to 20/20 vision in several weeks! I have never seen this clearly since I was a young child. I can now go swimming and do many activities which were more complicated when I could only wear glasses. 

 Dr Pilavas was extremely patient throughout, called me several times after the procedure to make sure I was fine and returned all my calls when I had a question or concern. I am now 5 weeks post op and the only eye drops I’m taking are to deal with dryness which has also been progressively getting better in the past few weeks. 

In summary— Highly recommended! My deepest gratitude to Dr Pilavas for being so attentive and caring throughout the many months so that everything goes smoothly.
GNU C.
Submitted 03/06/19
This is my first visit with Dr. Pilavas and it’s beyond expectation. I never regret spenting hours searching for the best doctor.
Eugene F.
Submitted 01/25/19
Dr was great
William M.
Submitted 07/09/18
I am very familiar with eye doctors in several countries around the world due to a history of eye procedures. Dr. Pilavas recently performed a cataract procedure on one of my eyes. He is amongst the most impressive doctors I have come across. Dr. Pilavas has a wonderful temperament and bedside manner. He also very clearly explained the upcoming procedure, choices to be made, possible side effects. On the day of the procedure he was very calm and reassuring. And he truly has doctors hands! Dr. Pilavas works carefully and methodically always ensuring the patient has no discomfort or trepidation. His post op care and responsiveness are also exemplary. I have no hesitation to rate him 100 of 100. A wonderful doctor!
Kristal P.
Submitted 06/02/18
Very attentive and detailed. Hands down best eye doctor I've had.
Elias V.
Submitted 05/08/18
Wonderful Man Thank you
Emily M.
Submitted 04/30/18
Dr Pilavas is great! Lovely bedside manner. Takes time to ask questions and make sure you’re comfortable. Highly recommend!
Justina B.
Submitted 03/24/18
Dr. Pilavas was very thorough and knowledgeable.
Adriana G.
Submitted 02/10/18
Dr. Pilavas was very professional, considerate, and thorough. Very good experience.
Elizabeth S.
Submitted 01/15/18
Dr.John and his staff were friendly and professional. I felt well-cared for and very comfortable. I would recommend this practice highly!
Nicole L.
Submitted 10/20/17
This would have been a 5 star experience, as the doctor was great and the office was clean, but I waited about 45 minutes for my appointment, which is ridiculous.
Ora G.
Submitted 07/29/17
Very knowledgeable dr, seen different 2 dr couldn't help, dr Pilavas knew exactly my problem & how to treat it, Recommended!
Brittaney N.
Submitted 07/17/17
Dr.Pilavas and staff were wonderful. My appointment was was on time, and not a long wait. The staff was friendly and engaging. The Dr was attentive to all my questions and was clear about all procedures performed and what he was looking for. Highly recommend